The Hobbit: Quotes from the Family

The Hobbit

I went to go and see The Hobbit today in Leicester Square Odeon with my family (Mum, Dad, sister), and if I’m honest I think that the epic-ness that is that cinema helped in my overall viewing experience. So much has been said about the film and it’s frame rate, that I actually feel like if I say “frame rate” one more time I may turn into a frame rate. Does that even make sense? I personally loved it, but I know that some people didn’t, and that’s fair enough. After the film was over I asked my family what they thought, and I was interested to know what my sister’s view was in particular, because she is an absolute Tolkein buff and has read The Hobbit as well as The Lord of the Rings trilogy, and knows most of the script to the lotr films off by heart. Initially, she was just perplexed by the fact that she was convinced they’d missed out a bit about the eagles? (She wouldn’t tell me what bit it was “in case it’s in the next one”). But then she slowly went on to reveal her thoughts about the *cough*frame rate*cough*, and how the picture looked. Her input was something along these lines:

“I liked it, but I really didn’t like how it looked. I’m sorry, but I didn’t get into it till the storm giants. It looked too real and it wasn’t like the other films. It ruined it a bit for me.” Her verdict: ★★★

Now, my mum on the other hand, who has also read The Hobbit, but not the lotr books, absolutely loved it. Interestingly, she also wears glasses and had to put in contact lenses in order for the 3D specs to fit comfortably. Now I’ve heard a lot of people moaning about the film giving them headaches, and a couple of guys saying that they wouldn’t go because they wear glasses… ?  If anyone was going to complain about the 3D or a headache, it would be my mum, as she often hates it and says it’s horrible to concentrate on. After the film though, she said that she could completely understand why Jackson made it 48fps, and that it meant that the 3D for her was less awkward. She also loved the content, and found Gandalf’s speech to Galadriel about “small things making a difference” really moving.* This was what she had to say:

“I loved it, I thought it was fantastic. I actually thought it was ten times better than the first Lord of the Rings film. There was so much more in it to enjoy. Richard Armitage was so good as Thorin, he gave him more soul than he has in the book.” Her verdict: ★★★★ (or even ★★★★★ “but she wasn’t sure”)

My Dad, a man who very rarely rambles, was short and sweet in his summation. He also enjoyed it more than my sister, and had this to say:

“Very good. Didn’t feel like three hours at all. The only thing I’ll say is that I loved the Lord of the Rings films because they were new and I hadn’t seen anything like that before.” (Basically suggesting that The Hobbit’s tone is familiar and therefore not as enthralling.) His verdict: ★★★★

So, that’s what the family thought. If you want to know what my verdict was then check out my review (should be below, or follow this link)

*     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *

*Here’s the quote that my Mum liked so much. I was thinking about it today and decided to try and find it:

Saruman believes it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. I found it is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay… small acts of kindness and love. Why Bilbo Baggins? That’s because I am afraid and it gives me courage.”

Love it!

Leave a Reply

